GUIDELINES of corporate responsibility for sustainability when organizing and running events

STRATEGY.

1. The ‘sustainable business person’ addresses the specific conditions of the events industry and turns sustainability into an effective and process-oriented strategy in his own company. He analyses the risks and opportunities associated with a long-term focused sustainability strategy and acts accordingly. He exposes himself to self-regulation and reports on the strategic application in his areas of operation.
2. Goals, rules and processes for implementation are published and brought to implementation through the continuous optimisation process, lead by the company’s sustainability representative. Set goals are ambitious and are guided by best practice standards.

OPPORTUNITY.

3. The ‘sustainable business person’ considers sustainability management to be of a strategic dimension to the company that offers solutions for the future effects of his actions.
4. The ‘sustainable business person’ seizes the opportunities of sustainable actions, i.e. by saving resources and energy, increasing employees’ motivation and reducing staff turnover. Therefore, measures taken to avoid, reduce and compensate for effects bring about substantial advantages for the company, in addition to helping solve a societal problem. The optimisation process of a ‘sustainable motion’ strengthens the market position of a future-oriented company amidst international competition.
5. The ‘sustainable business person’ supports event organisers and participants by offering customer service with proactive assistance for ‘green meetings

COMMON GOOD.

6. The ‘sustainable business person’ meets his responsibility in the region. He makes his contribution to the regional community to foster the common good and to support the region’s further development.
7. Wherever possible, regional economic partners are included in the supply chain as suppliers and service providers.

ECONOMY.

8. Economy and profitability are requirements for business success, but they are not the sole purpose
of a business. The ‘sustainable business person’ sees sustainable practice as a challenge that considers ecological and social aspects in a long-term balance with economy. The ‘sustainable business person’ is completely committed to this balance.
9. For the company’s economic partners, long-term stability of the partnership is of high importance. Clients and suppliers, state authorities and (regional) companies of the entire supply chain are major economic partners that depend on the company’s economic stability.
10. The ‘sustainable business person’ captures and evaluates environmental and social risks just the way he does with business and financial risks. In order to retain stability, all risks from entrepreneurial actions are analysed early and counteracted as effectively as possible.

RESOURCES AND ENERGY.

11. The ‘sustainable business person’ follows the priorities of 1) avoiding, 2) reducing and 3) replacing with renewables for all aspects of resource and energy usage.
12. In the long run, the ‘sustainable business person’ follows the goal of climate friendly events and systematically works towards it. In practice, this means to steadily reduce the direct use of resources and energy through constant measurements and analyses.
13. The ‘sustainable business person’ includes the use of resources and energy by all stakeholders of an event in a balance. He makes suggestions and offers innovative services to address and, wherever possible, prevent energy and resource use as part of an event, in order to reduce the overall carbon footprint.
14. Growing demand for environmentally friendly and energy-saving products and services brings about a significant ecopolitical responsibility. Hence, the ‘sustainable business person’ strengthens the market by purchasing and utilising innovative, environmentally friendly goods and services.
15. The main potential for lowering energy use of events is in the mobility (arrival / departure) and the accommodation of participants. The ‘sustainable business person’ recommends event times which allow the participants to use public transport. For mobility services, low-emission vehicles are recommended.

16. The ‘sustainable business person’ gathers the amounts of carbon dioxide emissions created, i.e. by using emissions calculators for events, and sets goals for emission reductions according to the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol. Measures to compensate for unavoidable emissions are considered.

17. Regarding building requirements, all possibilities to save energy are consistently checked and improved. When planning renovations, energy-efficient aspects are key to the building management’s considerations.

18. For further aspects of organising and running sustainable events, the “Guidelines for the sustainable organisation of events” (Leitfaden für die nachhaltige Organisation von Veranstaltungen) by the BMU (Federal Environment Ministry) and its further recommendations are followed.

SOCIAL COMPETENCE.

19. The ‚sustainable business person‘ recognises the implications demographic developments have on the labour market. He takes measures to further educate and train his employees to ensure their employment and enhance their qualification. These measures are considered an investment in the company‘s future viability.

20. The ‚sustainable business person‘ defines his own guiding principles and leadership values by supporting equal opportunities, involvement in the company development and the development of employees‘ potentials.


RESPECT.

21. The ‚sustainable business person‘ is aware of his societal responsibility and protects human dignity and human rights. Nationally and internationally recognized human rights standards are respected, valued, supported and complied with in the company‘s sphere of influence.

22. The ‚sustainable business person‘ implements processes to ensure compliance especially with employees‘ rights, and to involve employees.

23. The ‚sustainable business person‘ designs his events and facilities according to the expectations of the multi-faceted visitor groups attending international events. The needs of i.e. mothers with their children, elderlies or people with disabilities are taken into consideration when offering services in the building.

24. The ‚sustainable business person‘ actively opposes any form of discrimination, i.e. on the grounds of gender, race, religion or political orientation. He implements processes to encourage equal opportunities, health and safety at work, protection of minorities, and the integration of migrants and people with disabilities.

25. The ‚sustainable business person‘ takes a stand against accepting advantages and corruption of any kind. In case a rule is breached, countermeasures are launched systematically to avoid recurrence. Recognised standards offer further guidance (i.e. Transparency International). Furthermore, the use of systems to avoid misbehaviour in the company is recommended.

OPEN-MINDEDNESS.

26. Events influence ecological, economic and social aspects of society. The ‚sustainable business person‘ identifies these influences and the relevant interest groups affected. Upon request by the relevant interest groups, the company will explain the kind and scope of the measures taken to meet sustainable requirements.

27. Any communication and presentation about the company‘s sustainable management practices answers the claim of truth and clarity.

SELF-COMMITMENT.

28. Companies that submit their ‚declaration of support‘ for the Sustainability Codex commit to being ‚pro-actively sustainable business people‘ based on this voluntary self-commitment. They pay regard to this commitment in all relevant economic, ecological and social aspects.

29. The ‚sustainable business person‘ commits to publishing a progress report detailing the status of measures taken to put the Sustainability Codex into practice, one year after submitting the ‚declaration of support‘. For each guiding principle, the ‚sustainable business person‘ explains which goals have been set and which measures he has taken to achieve these goals. He describes the feasibility of every guiding principle that has not yet been fulfilled. The associations GCB and EVVC will provide a standard matrix for the production of the progress report.

30. Furthermore, it is recommended that the ‚sustainable business person‘ submit their company policy and sustainability strategy.

INCENTIVES.

31. The ‚sustainable business person‘ supports the goal of sustainability by providing incentives to re-think and act. The management, employees, clients and all market partners should be encouraged to achieve good sustainability performance in the constant improvement process.

32. Firstly, the ‚sustainable business person‘ sets direct incentives by including qualitative and/or quantitative goals in the performance evaluation for the employees and the company management.

33. Secondly, the ‚sustainable business person‘ recommends specific measures to all stakeholders in order to achieve sustainability when running events. The ‚sustainable business person‘ actively offers his support in planning and organizing suitable measures, i.e. by facilitating partnerships and enabling offers to achieve better use of public transport.

34. Thirdly, the ‚sustainable business person‘ sets market incentives for the effects of acting sustainably. He prefers groups of products, service providers and hotels that act in line with the Codex in as many key areas as possible, such as mobility, climate and energy, catering, and waste management.

35. The ‚sustainable business person‘ makes use of the company suggestion scheme in order to include all employees in achieving sustainability, and utilises social benefits, i.e. by financially supporting the use of public transport, health protection, further education or scholarships. To the extent feasible, the ‚sustainable business person‘ sponsors internal and external funding programmes, initiatives or projects.

Sie befinden sich hier: Mehr Information | Leitsätze

Leitsätze der unternehmerischen Verantwortung für Nachhaltigkeit bei der Organisation und Durchführung von Veranstaltungen

STRATEGIE.

1. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ greift die spezifischen Umstände der Veranstaltungsbranche auf und macht Nachhaltigkeit zu einer wirkungsvollen und prozessbezogenen Strategie im eigenen Unternehmen. Er analysiert damit verbundene Chancen und Risiken für eine langfristig ausgerichtete Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und handelt entsprechend. Er stellt sich der Selbstkontrolle und legt die Anwendung in seinen operativen Tätigkeitsbereichen dar.

2. Ziele, Regeln und Prozesse zur Implementierung werden offen gelegt und von dem Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten des Unternehmens in einem kontinuierlichen Optimierungsprozess zur Umsetzung geführt. Selbst gesetzte Ansprüche sind ehrgeizig und orientieren sich an den jeweils bestmöglichen Lösungen.

CHANCE.

3. Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement versteht der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ als eine unternehmensstrategische Dimension, die mit Lösungen zu Auswirkungen seines Handelns in der Zukunft beiträgt.

4. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ nutzt die Chancen des nachhaltigen Handelns, z. B. durch Einsparung von Ressourcen und Energie, Erhöhung der Mitarbeitermotivation und Reduzierung der Fluktuation. Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung, Reduzierung oder Kompensation von Folgewirkungen erzielen somit neben dem Beitrag zur gesellschaftlichen Problemlösung auch einen wesentlichen Nutzen für das Unternehmen. Der Optimierungsprozess im Sinne einer sustainable motion stärkt die Marktpositionierung als zukunftsorientierter Unternehmer im internationalen Wettbewerb.

5. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ unterstützt Veranstalter und Teilnehmer im Customer Service durch pro-aktive Hilfestellung mit innovativen Produkten und Dienstleistungen für „green meetings and events“.

 

GEMEINWOHL.

6. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ erfüllt seine Verantwortung in der Region. Er leistet einen Beitrag zum Gemeinwesen in seiner Region, um das Gemeinwohl zu stärken und die Weiterentwicklung zu fördern.

7. Regionale Wirtschaftspartner werden als Lieferanten und Leistungserbringer in die Wertschöpfungskette wo möglich einbezogen.

 

ÖKONOMIE.

8. Ökonomie und Rentabilität sind Voraussetzungen für den Unternehmenserfolg aber nicht der alleinige Sinn des Unternehmens. Nachhaltiges Handeln versteht der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ als eine Herausforderung, die ökologische und soziale Aspekte im Sinne einer langfristigen Ausgewogenheit zur Ökonomie sieht. Dafür setzt sich der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ mit ganzer Kraft ein.

9. Für die Wirtschaftspartner des Unternehmens hat die langfristige Stabilität in der Zusammenarbeit ein besonderes Gewicht. Kunden und Zulieferer, Öffentliche Träger und (regionale) Unternehmen der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette sind wesentliche Wirtschaftspartner, die auf eine ökonomische Stabilität des Unternehmens angewiesen sind.

10. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ erfasst und bewertet Umwelt- und Sozialrisiken so selbstverständlich wie die Unternehmens-, Finanzrisiken. Alle Risiken des unternehmerischen Handelns werden zum Erhalt der Stabilität frühzeitig analysiert und ihnen wird soweit wie möglich entgegengewirkt.

 

RESSOURCEN UND ENERGIE.

11. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ folgt in allen Belangen des Ressourcen- und Energieverbrauchs den Prioritäten 1. vermeiden, 2. vermindern und 3. regenerierbar ersetzen.

12. Langfristig folgt der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ dem Ziel der klimafreundlichen Veranstaltung und geht diesem konsequent entgegen. Konkret heißt das, den direkt verursachten Ressourcen- und Energieeinsatz durch Erhebung und Analyse fortlaufend zu reduzieren.

13. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ bezieht den durch alle Beteiligten einer Veranstaltung verursachten Ressourcen- und Energieeinsatz in eine Bilanz ein. Er nutzt und gibt Empfehlungen oder innovative Dienstleistungen im Sinne eines vorsorgenden Ansatzes im Umgang mit Energie und Ressourcen, die sich aus der Durchführung einer Veranstaltung ergeben können, um die CO2-Bilanz insgesamt zu verbessern.

14. Eine besondere umweltpolitische Verantwortung liegt in der erhöhten Nachfrage Ressourcen- und Energieschonender Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ stärkt daher den Markt durch den Einkauf und die Anwendung von innovativen, umweltfreundlichen Leistungen.

15. Vermeidungspotenzial für den Energieverbrauch für Veranstaltungen liegt v. a. in der Mobilität (An- und Abreise) sowie in der Unterbringung der Teilnehmer. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ empfiehlt daher, Veranstaltungszeiten zu wählen, die den Teilnehmern eine problemlose An- und Abfahrt mit den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln ermöglichen. Für Mobilitätsdienstleistungen werden emissionsarme Fahrzeuge bevorzugt empfohlen.

16. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ erfasst die verursachte CO2-Freisetzung, z. B. anhand von CO2-Rechnern für Veranstaltungen und setzt sich Ziele für die CO2-Reduktion entsprechend dem Standard des Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol. Zur Neutralisierung von nicht vermeidbaren Treibhausgas-Emissionen werden Kompensationsmaßnahmen in Erwägung gezogen.

17. Hinsichtlich der Anforderungen an Gebäude werden die Möglichkeiten der Energieeinsparung laufend geprüft und wo möglich verbessert. Bei Renovierung oder Sanierung plant das Gebäudemanagement die Maßnahmen unter energetischen Gesichtspunkten.

18. Für weitergehende Aspekte bei der Organisation und Durchführung von nachhaltig geplanten Veranstaltungen wird der Leitfaden für die nachhaltige Organisation von Veranstaltungen des BMU / UBA und die darin enthaltenen weiterführenden Empfehlungen beachtet.

 

SOZIALKOMPETENZ.

19. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ erkennt die Auswirkungen auf den Arbeitnehmermarkt in Hinblick auf die demografische Entwicklung der Bevölkerungsstruktur. Zur Sicherung der Beschäftigung und zur Steigerung der Qualifikation aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter ergreift er Maßnahmen zur Ausbildung und zur Weiterbildung. Die Maßnahmen werden als Investition in die eigene Zukunftsfähigkeit verstanden.

20. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ legt sein Leitbild und die Werte der Mitarbeiterführung fest, die Chancengerechtigkeit, Mitwirkung bei unternehmerischer Fortentwicklung und die Potenzialentwicklung der Mitarbeiter fördern sollen.

 

RESPEKT.

21. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ ist sich seiner gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung bewusst und schützt die Menschenwürde und die Menschenrechte. National und international anerkannte Standards der Menschenrechte werden respektiert und im Einflussbereich des eigenen Unternehmens geachtet, eingehalten und unterstützt.

22. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ implementiert Prozesse, die der Einhaltung insbesondere der Arbeitnehmerrechte dienen und die Beteiligung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter fördern.

23. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ gestaltet seine Veranstaltungen und Veranstaltungsräume nach den Anforderungen, die die vielschichtigen Besuchergruppen internationaler Veranstaltungen erwarten. Angebote z. B. für Mütter mit Kindern, für ältere Menschen, für Behinderte werden im Gebäude berücksichtigt.

24. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ setzt sich dafür ein, jegliche Form von Diskriminierung zu unterbinden, z. B. aufgrund von Geschlecht, Rasse oder Religionszugehörigkeit oder politischer Weltanschauung. Er implementiert Prozesse, um Chancengleichheit, Gesundheits- und Arbeitsschutz, Schutz von Minderheiten und die Integration von Migranten und Menschen mit Handicaps zu fördern.

25. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ setzt sich für die Verhinderung von Vorteilsnahme und von Korruption in allen Formen ein. Bei Regelverstößen sollen systematisch Maßnahmen eingeleitet werden, die Wiederholung verhindern. Orientierung bieten akzeptierte Standards (z. B. Transparency International). Darüber hinaus wird empfohlen, Systeme zur Vermeidung von Fehlverhalten im Unternehmen anzuwenden.

 

OFFENHEIT.

26. Veranstaltungen haben Einfluss auf ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Aspekte der Gesellschaft. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ identifiziert diese Einflüsse und die relevanten Interessensgruppen, die davon betroffen sind. Auf Fragen und Bedenken der relevanten Interessensgruppen wird dargelegt, welche Maßnahmen das Unternehmen nach Art und Umfang ergreift, die der Nachhaltigkeit gerecht werden.

27. Jede Kommunikation und Darstellung über die nachhaltige Unternehmensführung erfüllt den Anspruch der Wahrheit und Klarheit.

 

SELBSTVERPFLICHTUNG.

28. Unternehmen, die ihre ‚Unterstützungserklärung’ für den Nachhaltigkeitskodex abgeben, bekennen sich mit dieser freiwilligen Selbstverpflichtung als aktiv ‚nachhaltig handelnder Unternehmer’. Sie beachten dies in allen relevanten Bereichen der Ökonomie, der Ökologie und in den sozialen Aspekten.

29. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ verpflichtet sich, ein Jahr nach Abgabe der ‚Unterstützungserklärung’ einen Fortschrittsbericht über den Stand der Maßnahmen auf dem Weg zur Umsetzung des Nachhaltigkeitskodex zu veröffentlichen. Für jeden Leitsatz legt der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ dar, welche Ziele festgelegt wurden und welche Maßnahmen er zur Zielerreichung ergriffen hat. Zum Stand (noch) nicht erfüllter Entsprechung eines Leitsatzes erklärt er die Machbarkeit. Die Verbände GCB und EVVC legen eine Standardmatrix für das Erstellen des Fortschrittsberichts vor.

30. Darüber hinaus wird empfohlen, dass der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ seine Unternehmenspolitik und seine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie darlegt.<

 

ANREIZE.

31. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ fördert das Ziel der Nachhaltigkeit durch Anreize zum Umdenken und Handeln. Management, Mitarbeiter, Kunden und alle Marktpartner sollen motiviert werden, eine Nachhaltigkeits-Performance im ständigen Verbesserungsprozess zu erreichen.

32. Erstens setzt der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ direkte Anreize, indem er Aspekte für nachhaltiges Handeln qualifiziert und/oder quantifiziert in Ziel- und Beurteilungssysteme für die Mitarbeiter/innen und für das Management des Unternehmens aufnimmt.

33. Zweitens empfiehlt der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ allen bei der Veranstaltung Beteiligten sowie Marktpartnern konkrete Maßnahmen zur Erfüllung der Nachhaltigkeit bei der Durchführung von Veranstaltungen. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ bietet aktiv seine Unterstützung bei der Konzeption und Organisation geeigneter Maßnahmen an, z. B. die Vermittlung von Kooperationen und Angeboten zur verstärkten Nutzung von Bus&Bahn.

34. Drittens setzt der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ Marktanreize für Effekte nachhaltigen Handelns. Er wählt bevorzugt Produktgruppen, Dienstleister und Hotels aus, die in den relevanten Handlungsfeldern wie Mobilität, Klima und Energie, Catering, Abfallmanagement möglichst konform zum Kodex handeln.

35. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ nutzt das betriebliche Vorschlagswesen, um alle Mitarbeiter/innen zur Erfüllung der Nachhaltigkeit einzubeziehen und nutzt die Möglichkeiten der Sozialleistungen, z. B. durch die finanzielle Bezuschussung der ÖPNV Nutzung, Gesundheitsvorsorge sowie die Aus- und Weiterbildung oder Stipendien. Der ‚nachhaltige Unternehmer’ finanziert im Rahmen seiner Möglichkeiten interne oder externe Förderprogramme, Initiativen oder Projekte.